Try something new (Beautiful Ubuntu Part:2):Slingshot

Ubuntu gives you the power of customization,which Windows lacks. Here by Ubuntu I meant Linux.If you are using Linux then you are free to use anything from open source community.And believe me even if windows has more than 80% computer user market share, It looks dull.

When I purchased my first laptop in  2008, It came with boring and dull Windows vista. Windows vista was disastrous for Microsoft itself,then what can I say? Even then I used Vista around 8 months before moving to Windows 7 which is the most successful release of Microsoft  after Xp. I tried to run it for two months.But,here comes the Big but, but with single T,I was never happy with windows. Although I am still in search of Perfect OS, after using every single OS available on the planet (I guess). Ubuntu is quite good.

Oh hell!!! why am I going off the topic….Lets come back and make this post a little interesting (I know, even talking about windows is boring)

So if you are bored of clicking start button , Come to Linux.Here are many options available.

Here comes one of them:Slingshot

A screenshot:

As you can see it is an full screen app launcher. And have a little looks of Apple’s waste product iPad or most awesome product iPhone.

you see, how a bigger version of a smaller product can be a waste. While launching iPad in his keynote, Steve Jobs said that Apple is filling the gap between a Smartphone and a Computer, Which Netbooks failed to do. And gave iPad to the world (Actually,sold).

I say,Netbooks are way better than iPad because they can run Linux. iPad may be the most successful gadget of the century,But certainly it is not the best.Actually it’s  a waste.

So SIZE MATTERS!!!!! In this case Smaller is better.Actually way better. iPhone Rocks!!!!

Oh Again Hell!!!!!! I am going off the topic Again.Come back Aditya…

So about Slingshot:

If you are using Ubuntu,You may have heard of elementary project.Slingshot is the part of that elementary project.It is full-screen launcher having apps according to their categories And setting section– Preferences and Administration.

Here are some more screenshots:

Internet section

Preferences Section

Administration Section

Although ,it is in alpha stage ,But it is quite usable.  It works very fine with Gnome panel. Plus you can search any app just by typing first few letters of the name of app. And also it looks AWEsome.

Now if you want to try it here is what you have to do.

1.first install vala-0.12 or newer.It is not available in maverick repos, last time I checked. so you have to install vala-team ppa

open terminal and type:

$Sudo add-apt-repository  ppa:vala-team/ppa

then open synaptic PM –>reload–>install vala-0.12

if you have vala-0.10 then uninstall it.

2.Install libgee from Synaptic PM.

3.Install bzr if you don’t have it.

4.Install slingshot

open terminal and type

$bzr branch lp:~cldx3000/slingshot/experimental       //you may use lp:slingshot branch but it lacks some features and have some bugs.

$./build_run

You can run it by typing in terminal,slingshot,but it is quite annoying.So make a launcher in gnome panel:

1.Right click on panel choose “add to panel”.

2.then double click on “create new launcher”.

3.Name whatever you want command ‘slingshot’ and press ‘ok’.

4.Place it wherever you want.

that’s it!!

You may be wondering, where are the place.Answer is there are no places in slingshot yet.But you may put computer icon in the panel like I did (checkout screenshots).

Last question you may ask seeing the screenshots,  what are those icons ????

So let me tell you my dear friend,those are most AWEsome icons-set till date–faenza icons.

So, how can I install them???

1.Search Google for faenza icons.click on the first link or click this link

2.There is “download file” option the right and read the instruction to install on the same page.

Enjoy and wish me luck for my exams (before 30th April)!!!!!!!

Good bye!!!!!!

Leave a comment